Bob Klein is the founder of Community Grains, and co-owner of Oliveto restaurant in Oakland. Bob’s work at Community Grains and Oliveto is to develop local, non-industrialized whole grains that are healthy and delicious while educating consumers about the health benefits of consuming whole grains and strengthening local communities through good food. Bob has had a long career as a broadcast television producer, executive producer, national program consultant, and developer/syndicator.

Casey Carroll is Community Grains’ Project Manager. Born and raised in the agriculturally abundant Hudson Valley region of New York, Casey has always held a deep appreciation for food, farming, and local goods. Casey came to San Francisco five years ago to deepen her involvement in regional food system advocacy, eco-literacy, marketing for change, holistic healing, and earth wisdom. A storyteller at heart, Casey touts the importance of imagination for social change and is committed to co-creating commons-based solutions for how to better eat (and live!) together.

Lisa Quaid is an avid food lover who cares deeply about issues of food justice and a thriving local agricultural.  Her journey in food has led her down many paths: chef, cookbook writer, teacher, small business owner, special events specialist, catering director, farmers’ market manager.  Now as Operations Manager at CG she is happily doing her part to help revitalize the local grain economy.   And her favorite whole grain dish? – anything made with the Hard Red Winter Wheat.

Dallas Mark has held the business and office functions in place at Community Grains nearly from the beginning. She’s also pursuing a doctorate in psychology and is a devoted ballet student.

Craig Ponsford is founder of Artisan Bakery, winner of the Specialty Breads category of France’s 1996 Coupe du Monde de la Boulangerie (an international, invitational, artisan baking competition held in Parish every three to four years).  He recently opened Ponsford’s Place Bakery & Innovation Center in San Rafael, CA.

Jonah Rhodehamel, Executive Chef of Oliveto Restaurant in Oakland, CA has been an amazing resource as we’ve started working towards identity preserved wheats. He’s always game for an experiment & has come up with one of our best tasting products to date: Toasted Durum whole grain pasta. His enthusiasm for local grains can be seen on a daily basis on Oliveto’s breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus.

Jenny Raven, former Pastry Chef at Oliveto has worked with Community Grains flour since 2009 and has created many delicious recipes that are frequently used in the Oliveto Cafe and the dessert menu.

William Rubel is an author, food historian, and cook specializing in traditional cooking methods. Read about his extensive research and knowledge of our Trentino/Floriani Red Flint in Mother Earth News.

Deirdre Davis gained her pastry certification back in 1996 and has worked at several top restaurants around the Bay Area (including Boulevard, Postrio, Spago, baker for Scharffen Berger and pastry chef for Google) since then.  Her interest in whole grains and healthier baking recently brought her to work with Craig Ponsford in his new bakery helping with the production and product development. She has helped Community Grains develop recipes specifically for use with our unique flours.


Full Belly Farm, Guinda, CA

Chip Morris & Jerry Fry of Mohr-Fry Ranches in Lodi, CA

Ian Johnston

Fritz Durst of Tule Farms

Dale Coke of Coke Farms

Matt Taylor & Peter Buckley of Front Porch Farms in Healdsburg, CA

Brothers Bruce and Rick Rominger ar fifth-generation Yolo County farmers committed to growing crops in a way that protects the environment as much as possible by mimimizing the use of chemicals and synthetic fertilizers, and using drip irrigation to conserve water.


Bruce Ames
Russell Jones
David Killilea
Michael Pollan
Mark Shigenaga

And lots of others:
Bob Adams
Torie Beedle

Miriam Blanchman
Arthur Bloch
Sterling Burnell
Teresa Chin
Nick Charles
Teal Dudziak
Karen Firestein
Sally Fox
Bill Fujimoto
Al Giusto
Maggie Klein
Mary Kimbal
Rick Kirby
Roberta Klugman
Sierra Lash
Todd Lash
Fergus McGrath
Catherine Meng

Glenn Roberts
Ameryll Schwartner
Luis Sierra
Max Stepanian
Steve Sullivan
Ric Timber
Joe Vanderliet

David Visher
Gail Wadsworth
Nigel Walker
Brian Wood